AREVA logo

Luc Oursel

Portrait of Luc Oursel

President and Chief Executive Officer of AREVA
Member of the Supervisory Board of Souriau
Chairman of the Société Française de l’Energie Nucléaire (SFEN)

Luc Oursel is a graduate of the École Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Paris and is a Chief Engineer in the Corps des Mines.

He began his career with the Regional Department of Industry and Research for the Rhone-Alps region in 1984, where he headed up the Energy and Mineral Resources division. In 1988, he joined the French Ministry of Industry’s Department of Natural Gas, Electricity and Coal, where he was in charge of the Electricity department and subsequently deputy to the director of Natural Gas, Electricity and Coal. In 1991, he joined the cabinet of the French Ministry of Defense as technical advisor in charge of industrial affairs, armament programs and research.

Luc Oursel joined the Schneider Electric group in 1993, first as CEO of SAE Gardy, and later as CEO of Schneider Shanghai Industrial Control. In 1998, he was named President and Managing Director of Schneider Electric Italia and became Industrial Director of Schneider Electric in 2001.

Luc Oursel joined the Sidel group in 2002 as Executive Vice President of Sidel Solutions (sales, services, engineering). He became Vice President in charge of international subsidiaries at Geodis in September 2004 and was named CEO of the group in 2006.

In January 2007, Luc Oursel became President and CEO of AREVA NP and a member of the Executive Committee and of AREVA's Nuclear Executive Committee; he was appointed to the Executive Board of AREVA by the Supervisory Board on March 22, 2007. In November 2009, he was appointed Senior Executive Vice President, Nuclear Operations and, in January 2011, Chief Operating Officer in charge of Marketing, International and Projects.

On June 30, 2011, AREVA’s Supervisory Board named Luc Oursel President and CEO, and Chairman of the Executive Board of AREVA.

Luc Oursel also sits on the Supervisory Board of Souriau and is Chairman of the Société Française de l’Énergie Nucléaire (SFEN, the French nuclear society).